Lost Dudebro in Mexico

 

American adventurer missing in Mexico

http://www.cnn.com/video/data/2.0/video/world/2014/02/09/nr-pkg-field-missing-american-adventurer-in-mexico.cnn.html

“Harry Devert’s motorcycle journey from the United States to Latin America is somewhat reminiscent of “The Motorcycle Diaries,” which recount the South American travels of revolutionary Ernesto “Che” Guevara on an old motorbike in search of his insurgent spirit.”

Of course after reading this I immediately, selfishly thought of myself. Am I an “American Adventurer” like the article headline says? Am I too, similar to Che Guevara? I must be.

Should I start day trading?

What would have happened if I went missing? Would I also have been on the front page of the news dailies? The story of the manchild on vacation with his parents videotaping the cinnamon bun going viral on Reuters? Pics of me and Jared getting thrown out of the Bellagio on the cover of the Post? The strange pilgrimage to the dinosaurs from Pee Wee’s Big Adventure blurbed in Le Monde?

I’ve no idea what happened to this dude, although judging from the circumstances you can’t really fault someone for thinking the worst. For what it’s worth, I totally dug ol’ Mexico and rode it from top to bottom with nary a hint of danger. And yet shit happens and there were places that I did not go. Poverty is a strange beast and the hardcore poverty that you run into south of the border does strange things to people. Desperate measures for desperate men and life becomes cheap. So lets hope that this dude gets home safe but who the fuck knows.

Viva la Revolucion and Hasta la Victoria, Siempre!

P1030307

“I’ve never ridden a motorcycle,” he wrote.

3 responses to “Lost Dudebro in Mexico

  1. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE old cb500 YOU ROAD TO PATAGONIA?? did it die?…you traded it for some goat’s milk to survive on you until the plane arrived to bring you back to the center of the universe…NYC? …..end of the story was weak

  2. aaaaah…thank you. i feel some closer. Incredible trip. was fun to follow.

Leave a Reply

